Baby Led Weaning 

Baby Led Weaning 

When we first started weaning Finn we started with traditional purées both homemade and with the odd jar and pouch for convenience. I soon realised I hated making the purées, I thought it was silly making loads of separate things when I always cooked from scratch  for us anyway and it was a massive pain when we were out and about for days out or on holidays. 



I started to read about Baby Led Weaning after hearing about it at my baby matters class. There’s a massive divide on this, people say you aren’t doing true baby led weaning if you spoon feed as well. I didn’t take this approach at all as there was food Finn loved like porridge and yogurts that I just wasn’t going to let him loose on until he was better with a spoon. Also the whole idea for me was to make our lives easier so I didn’t want to be tied to one thing. Overall it worked perfectly for us and I loved the fact Finn could join in with family meal times and if we were out all day I could just pick up some food for him. It was also perfect when we were on holiday as we could just let Finn have bits of our food. 


I loved the Gill Rapley books on Baby Led Weaning especially about the theory behind it, I love reading so like to get a book on anything new. I also found loads of useful information online and on other blogs. Generally I just adapted whatever we were eating just watching things like salt and spice ( although I only like mild spice so I would give this to Finn and just put things like yogurt in chilli). 


A product I found really useful when we first started Finn on solids was the Nuby Garden Fresh Steam and Mash, I’ve recommended this to everyone as its really handy when out and about to mash bits of your food. It was also brilliant for our holiday to Fuerteventura as we were all inclusive so could just pick bits of food from the buffet. 


When we first started I just gave Finn any bits of what I was eating that were suitable, but some thing Finn loved  and were easy for him to eat were: cucumber sticks, wedges of nectarine, sweet potato wedges, baked cod fillets crumbled into smaller pieces, mini corn on the cob, broccoli florets, omelette cut into strips, pasta (the bigger tube types were best), chunks of banana and chopped up cherry tomatoes. The list really is endless though, I just started with bigger pieces and as Finn’s pincer grip and co- ordination improved I made the pieces smaller. As it was winter we were having a lot of things like curry, chilli, stews, pasta sauces etc.. So I just made sure the veg and meat were in bigger chunks than normal and gave him this. I gave him a fork and spoon early on but just left it near his food and he is slowly getting the hang of it. 


Finn really is an adventurous eater there’s nothing he won’t eat including olives, plenty of veg and much stronger tastes. When we have been on holiday he is really happy to try any food. It also means I can just do one shop for the family and don’t have to buy different foods for him. When we eat out there’s always something on the menu he will love. I’m hoping because we incorporated baby led weaning Finn will continue to love all foods and be willing to try anything. 

Did anyone else try baby led weaning? What was your experience?

My random musings  linkup 

4 thoughts on “Baby Led Weaning 

  1. It sounds like you’ve found the perfect balance! I don’t think it matters if it’s not “true” baby led weaning – as long as it works for you and your baby and they are getting enough to eat, that’s all that really matters. It’s brilliant he eats such a varied range of foods 🙂
    Thanks for linking up to #BloggerClubUK 🙂
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank Debbie, exactly you just have to do what’s best for you and your baby don’t you! He’s such an adventurous eater now

      Like

  2. Great pictures, we’ve done a mixture (so certainly aren’t doing ‘true’ baby led weaning), we do still purée some food but we are edging more into Effy just eating small pieces of what we eat. Its messy but fun watching her discover new things. #BloggerClubUK

    Like

Leave a Reply

